Ministry of Local Government and Chieftaincy Matters

The Ministry was established in the year 1999. It used to be known as the Ministry of Special Duties of the past military administrations. It was thereafter established by the then incumbent Governor Lamidi Adesina’s administration on the 27th July, 1999. The various departments in the ministry include: The Department of Local Government Inspectorate, Department of Local Government Affairs, Department of Chieftain Matters, Department of Finance and Administration and the Oyo State Valuation Office. It has a staff strength of 51 staff members.

Our Vision

To overhaul and reposition the 33 Local Governments and 35 Local Council Development Areas for a sustainable development.

Our Mission

To formulate policies for strengthening the institutional capacities of Local Governments and Local Council Development Areas to ensure they are environmentally sustainable and socially inclusive.

Our Objectives

  • Effective administration and monitoring of the 33 Local Governments (LGAs) and 35 Local Council Development Areas (LCDAs)
  • Effective control of Local Government Finances
  • Effective supervision of sustainable projects in the 33 LGAs and 35 LCDAs
  • Effective handling of all chieftaincy matters in Oyo State.



PHONE : 08033916059, 08033180116,  08022770850, 08076601960, 09051248888, 08061241235.

  • Department of Administration and Supplies
  • Department of Local Government Affairs
  • Department of Local Government Inspectorates
  • Department of Chieftaincy Matters
  • Department of Finance and Accounts

ZONE I – Ibadan Areas (11 LGS) 

  1. Egbeda
  2. Ibadan North
  3. Akinyele
  4. Ibadan North East
  5. Ibadan North West
  6. Ibadan South East
  7. Ibadan South West
  8. Ido
  9. Lagelu
  10. Oluyole
  11. Ona-Ara

ZONE II – Oke-Ogun Areas (10 LGs)

  1. Atisbo
  2. Oorelope
  3. Iseyin
  4. Itesiwaju
  5. Kajola
  6. Irepo
  7. Olorunsogo
  8. Iwajowa
  9. Saki East
  10. Saki West

ZONE III– Ogbomoso Areas (5 LGs)

  1. Ogbomoso North
  2. Ogbomos South
  3. Surulere
  4. Oriire
  5. Ogo-Oluwa

ZONE IV – Oyo Areas (4 LGs)

  1. Afijio
  2. Atiba
  3. Oyo East
  4. Oyo West

ZONE V – Ibarapa Areas (3 LGs)

  1. Ibarapa East
  2. Ibarapa North
  3. Ibarapa Central
  • Construction and Asphalting of 161 roads. (2012)
  • Construction of 448 Motorized Boreholes. (2012)
  • Construction of 216 Modern Toilets. (2013)
  • Installation of 42 Transformers (2013)
  • Construction of 137 Blocks of 3-Classrooms. (2013)
  • Procurement of 320   Tractors  (2013)
  • Procurement of 33 Mini-refuse Trucks. (2013)
  • Procurement of 100 Federal Government Assisted Mass Transit Buses. (2013)
  • Senator Ajimobi Free Health Mission. (2014)
  • Provision of Relief and Poverty Alleviation Materials. (2014)
  • Construction of NYSC Permanent site at Ogbakuta Iseyin. (2014)
  • Supply of thirty-three (33) sets of Graders, Bulldozers and Low Beds. (2015)
  • Repair and Asphaltic patching of Ofiki Bridge. (2016)
  • Construction of Information and Communication Technology (ICT) Centre, Rehabilitation and upgrading of Ago-Amodu Library and Equipped (2016)
  • Installation and Extension of 500/11 KVA Transformer. (2016)
  • Reconstruction of Ogunpa Market to International Standard. (2017)
  • Various Training Programmeswere organized for political functionaries at the
  • Local Government level to enhance effectiveness at work

Latest from us

Be Transparent and Accountable in Discharging Your Duties – Makinde Warns LG Caretaker Heads

Oyo State Governor, Engr. Seyi Makinde has urged the Chairmen

Iseyin-Ogbomoso Road: I’m Happy It Is Happening In My Time – Aseyin

….APC Stalwart, Iseyin Residents Praise Makinde The Aseyin of Iseyin, Oba (Dr) Abd-Ganiy Salaudeen Adekunle Oloogunebi

Akufo Road And Other Promises Under Fulfillment

Pliable roads make a crucial contribution to economic development and growth, while it also brings significant social